Corsets can be Comfortable

So some of you may have seen this article today, “Everything you Know About Corsets is False” by Lisa Hix. It is a good article and touches on many of the things I find myself answering while at conventions. You should read it.

I appreciate many of the things she brings up in her article. I find that so many women and men don’t really understand corsets. They look at them like a costume piece, not as an actual garment that has a purpose. Add to that, the ill fitting badly made “corsets” that are sold at lingerie stores, most people have never had a good corset experience. Many people approach corsets as instruments of pain, or at the very least something they want to spend as little money on as possible because they aren’t going to wear them for very long. I hear those reasons and so many more for why corsets are frightening. I answer all their questions, and I always feel like I’m giving a testimonial about my life in a corset. I’m happy to do it, because I believe in it.

I convince them to try on one of the corsets I make. I watch their faces change. Their shoulders are back, spine straight. As they look at their figure in the mirror, as the realize that a corset made for your body, made well, and made with the right materials is comfortable! That they look fantastic, everything is proud and curvy! I actually love that moment. When someone has an amazing experience with something they were kind of afraid of.

So if you have yet to try on one of my corsets, stop by my shop at a show. We’ll chat, we’ll lace you up. You’ll look fantastic.

One response to “Corsets can be Comfortable

Leave a Reply

