Bones and Owl Vomit

When I was in middle school we dissected a lot of things, frogs, eyes, but my all time favorite was the owl pellet. It’s this little pellet filled with bones and skulls and to the 10 year old Angie is was so cool!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with these little gems, they are little pellets made from fur, feathers, and bones. You see owls eat their prey whole, of course they can’t digest all that so as soon as they eat the juices in their stomachs start to dissolve the good stuff and well they vomit up the unneeded stuff. They can hold the bones of mice, rats, shrews, frogs, voles and even small bats and rabbits. You might also find insect exoskeletons.

Turns out adult Angie thinks it’s still pretty cool. I’m not the only one who thinks these little things are so cool either, at least I don’t think so. So new to my product line and debuting at TempleCon – Owl Pellet kits! After TempleCon they will be featured in my Facebook Shop Everything you need to take apart these little pellets of awesomeness. I know all you creative peoples out there will find some amazing stuff  to do with the little bones you uncover.

I couldn’t resist taking apart a pellet and seeing how much goodness these guys can hold, and I admit I also wanted to see if was still as much fun as I remember it being. The pellet was about 1.5 to 2 inches in size. This is a standard/Medium pellet. The outside was covered with a bit of red dirt and grass. Which is a good indicator that these are wild pellets and not ones gathered in hatcheries. There are a lot of information that you can learn from such a small item.

So I picked one, and gently pulled it apart, using my hands, tweezers and a wooden pick. Little bones could be spied as soon as it feel into two pieces and a skull! I keep pulling apart the pellet gently and slowly and carefully. There were so many little bones, ribs and tail bones. I was kinda giddy.

  I set the skull in warm water to soak. While it was good for getting out the impacted hair from all the little nooks and crannies of the skull it was not so good to smell. I used the water sparingly after that and did all the fur removal with my tools. I’m pretty sure, do to the pelvis I found later that it was I had found a shrew skull. I started to tackle the other half of the pellet when I am surprised by another shrew skull! I was pretty happy with the fact that such a small pellet had yielded two mostly complete skeletons. I carefully gathered all the bones, into a container.

You can bleach the bones, with diluted bleach or peroxide, or you can leave them naturally colored. Then the sky is the limit. I’ve seen people make jewelry, or pendants with the larger bones and skulls. I’m not sure what I will do with mine yet. But I do know one thing for sure, I think that you will find as much excitement and education in these as I do. I am excited to share these with you and see what you will do with them!



Leave a Reply

