Fabric Labels – You Can Make Them Yourself!

I have been pricing fabric labels for a while now. I wanted to be savvy and start putting them in my custom made pieces. So I started trying to design what they should look like, what color – do they need to be printed or embroidered or what kind of fold should they have. It was kind of getting crazy, I had no idea that there were so many options for clothing labels! All those options made the procrastinator in me keep putting the project on the back burner.

Until I ran into two fantastic things, 1)Spoonflower – if you are not familiar with Spoonflower it’s an amazing website that sells fabric – independently  created fabric in just about any theme you can think of. 2) This great tutorial over at things for boys. She has super easy steps.

I gave it a go – only to be reminded how little photoshop skills I have. You know, enough knowledge to be dangerous to myself while deleting all my projects with a wrong click! But I made it and went with something simple….

 

In a yard of fabric I got about 250 labels, making them about $.08 a piece. Sure I have to cut them out, but I printed them on the bias so they shouldn’t fray – I can just sew or glue them in to all my pieces from now on.

Leave a Reply

